Cubs win the World Series

Daniel Kim, sports writer

Two outs. Runner on first. Bottom of the 10th inning. The Chicago Cubs lead the Cleveland Indians 8-7 in Game 7 of the World Series. Michael Martinez hit a slow ground ball rolls to Cubs third basemen Kris Bryant. He fields the ball with ease for the final out, and the Chicago Cubs are the 2016 World Series champions. This accomplishment has not been realized by the Cubs since their last World Series title in 1908.

Starting off the series, things looked shaky for the Cubs, as they trailed the Indians 3-1 after four games. In order for the Cubs to win, they needed to win the last three games, two of which took place in Cleveland. However, the Cubs forced a Game 7 and won the 10-inning slugfest to become World Series champions.

The exciting finale to the 2016 World Series ended the longest title drought in MLB history: one hundred and eight years. Along with significant history, the Cubs shared some bad luck along the way. From being cursed by a goat to losing a trip to the World Series by a reach of a hand, here is the timeline of the Cubs’ misfortunes in 108 title-less years.