Students recognized at Youth and Government convention


Liam Jackson

Missouri Youth Governor of the 2019 Clark convention Thora Pearson smiles after winning the election.

Emma Lingo, web managing editor

This year 45 students that are a part of Kirkwood’s Youth and Government club (YAG) attended the 2018 Clark convention for the first time Nov. 30-Dec. 1. At the convention, five KHS students were recognized for their hard work. In the executive branch, Thora Pearson, junior, was elected Missouri youth governor for the 2019 Clark Convention. In the legislative branch, Noah Rowan, senior, was awarded Outstanding Statesperson in the Senate. And in the judicial branch, Jenna Dyroff, Meredith Lang and Anna Stumpf, seniors, were all awarded Outstanding Judge.

YAG is a program where students spend part of their semester learning how government works by participating in mock trials or creating their own bills and debating with other students. According to YAG’s website, their mission is to prepare students for leadership roles in government by teaching them the democratic process through hands-on experience in the theory and practice of determining public policy.

“I was really surprised I [won the election] to be honest,” Pearson said. “I’ve always been a shy person so I didn’t even realize I could give a speech in front of hundreds of people, much less win the election. It was crazy. It was awesome to have Kirkwood there, cheering for me.”